Oregon State Minimum Wage To Rise By .10¢ Per Hour In January, Stateman Journal Reports

StatemanJournal.com is reporting that Oregon is set to raise the State Minimum Wage by .10¢ per hour in January.

“Oregon’s minimum wage will rise to $8.50 per hour on Jan. 1, State Labor Commissioner Brad Avakian said Monday.

The 10-cent increase mirrors a 1.15 percent increase in the Consumer Price Index since August 2009. Oregon’s minimum wage rate has been $8.40 per hour since January 2009.

Washington, where the minimum wage is currently $8.55 per hour, will announce its adjustment on Sept. 30.”

According to the story, “Ballot Measure 25, enacted by Oregon voters in 2002, requires a minimum wage adjustment annually based on changes in inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index. The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries is directed to adjust the minimum wage for inflation every September, rounded to the nearest five cents.”

To read the entire article, click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Minimum Wage, State Law Claims, Wage and Hour News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s